Hi,

Just thought I will share this great short story with all you people.

Jeyamohan is a renowned writer in Tamil and Malayalam. He came into the limelight with his novel “Vishnupuram.” Though vishnupuram was critically acclaimed by many authors and critics, I never had the urge to read it. I had been influenced by few biased views and was of the opinion that Jeyamohan’s writings were not very good. How mistaken I was! I used to hate Jeyamohan at one point of time. All that changed when my sister gave me a book called “Aram” and asked me to read a short story called “Yaanai Doctor” (Elephant Doctor). I am very thankful to my sister for opening this world to me. The funny thing was, she hated Jeyamohan more than me. Someone else opened the world for her. That’s the magic of sharing.

Yaanai or Mathagam in Tamil means Elephant. Elephant’s play a crucial role in the story. So far the only two short stories I have read are “Yaanai doctor” and “Sotthu kanakku” (food account), and they have been very impressive.

The beauty of Yaanai Doctor is that it is a true story of Dr.V.Krishnamurthy, who has been portrayed as Dr.K in the story. Dr.K, as he was fondly called, was a veteran conservationist who was a legend in the elephant circles. Dr.K was a forest veterinary officer with the Government of Tamilnadu for over three decades, primarily concentrating on the health care of both domestic and wild elephants. He resurrected captive elephant healthcare and management to levels that have not been seen in Asia for the most of the last century. Following the media light created by Jeyamohan’s story, a separate website has been created for Dr.K.

Going into the story, the way Jeyamohan narrates the impact that is caused by human presence inside the jungle, I felt it was essential to share the information with a bigger sector. I am sure that I am no bigger than Jeyamohan when we see each other’s fame ratings, but I can reach where he cannot reach and he can reach where I cannot reach. Again, the magic of sharing.

When the narrator feels disgusted with worms, Dr.K explains him. He says – “Lot of people are scared/disgusted with worms. Turn back and look at the scare/disgust. It will go away. You should have seen a black insect in our house. The worm is the earlier stage of the insect. The insect is a grown adult. Worm is an infant! Why should you feel disgusted with an infant?”

Those words inspired me to read more. Jeyamohan goes on to explain the damage broken bottles cause to elephants. The way the end up dying a horrifying death because a broken glass piece goes into the leg of the elephant, is touchingly explained in Dr.K’s words.

I do not want to explain more. It IS a GOOD read.

For those, who like to read the ebook in Tamil, you can leave your email as a comment. I will send you a PDF file.

You can also contact vishnupuram.vattam@gmail.com for permissions regarding print needs. For an English version of Elephant Doctor – Click here.

Go on. Read it. What do you think?